Texas Wagyu Association

Texas Wagyu Association

Livestock Exchange Building 131 E Exchange Ave, Suite 107 Fort Worth, TX 76164 817-200-8555

Annual General Meeting Minutes: May 17, 2024

Board Members Present:

Bryan Milburn

Benny Fajkus

Jim Skartvedt

Rusty Morgan

Tina Edwardson

Matt McEwan

Michael Scott

Others Present:

TWA Members and meeting attendees

Standing items:

MOTION by Interim President Tina Edwards to approve the meeting minutes of the 2023 Annual Meeting; seconded by Michael Scott. PASSED without dissent.

- Treasurer Report:
 - \$39,039.84 in income
 - \$10,007.88 in operating income

MOTION by Michael Scott to approve the Treasurer's Report; seconded by Matt McEwan. PASSED without discussion.

- President's Report:
 - Reading of Ryan Kern's letter of resignation, Tina's action in stepping in to his position from a Vice President position to temporarily complete the term.
 - 6 Events attended by Rusty on behalf of TWA to further represent the association.

Texas Wagyu Association

- Partner program with Australian Wagyu Association Wildfire Relief
 Fund
- Launch of the Junior program Online membership management
- Committee Reports
 - o Junior Program: Desi Cincale
 - Using M6 Ranch to put on an event in October 24-27, 2024-Lonestar Invitational
 - o Wildfire Relief: Bryan Milburn
 - Funds raised and distributed, funds still available for distribution.
- Show Committee Report: Rusty Morgan
 - Legacy Awards
 - Legacy Award: Ralph Lee with Lucky 7 Ranch, founded the Texas
 Wagyu Association
 - Legacy Award: Jerry Reeves, played a crucial role in developing the export market for US wagyu to Japan
 - Contributor of the Year: Chef Michael Scott, bringing over 40 years' experience to the industry
 - o Outstanding Service: Tina Edwards
 - Remembrance: Tom and his contributions to the Wagyu industry, the legacy he has left for his grandkids in his herd genetics

New Business

- Board of Directors Election
 - Reid Martin nominated Luke Brenner
 - Gary Stephens nominated Michael Broussard
- Proposed By: Law Changes
 - o Article 2: Purpose of the Association
 - Discussion: Ralph Lee- it was originally included to show that we were not working against AWA but with them; votes to keep as is. Al Nessinger feels the AWA is being penalized with the change in favor of the AuWA. Speaker 3 says many benefits to partnering with both associations. Matt McEwan feels that changing the by law allows us to partner with everyone (AWA, AuWA, AAA). Tina Edwards, TWA members are breeders; TWA is here to support all and this removes any gray area allowing all associations to be

Texas Wagyu Association

supported. Bryan Milburn says wording applies to a relationship that doesn't in fact exist. Al Nessinger, to be a voting member of TWA you must be a member of AWA, not specified. Speaker 7 asking if we have a joint office with AuWA in Ft. Worth. Tina clarified that we have a partnership, not a merger with AuWA. Speaker 7 has been asked by the TWA board to be legal advice, to see if the bylaws specify whether we can partner with other associations. There is authority of the board to partner with associations to promote and further the breed. Yarborough, 100% of their income comes from raising cattle. Thankful for the AuWA and their science and genomic valuation which is helping our beef improve. Just wants an association that gives him the tools to make a more competitive product.

MOTION by Ralph Lee vote on Article 2, Purpose of the Association, removing the AWA from the bylaws. All members mark their ballots and submit them at the end of the meeting.

- o Article 6, Item 6.01- Membership
 - Setting classification of membership for the junior members

MOTION to read the Bylaw Change, seconded by Matt McEwan. Read aloud by Bryan Milburn and members instructed to mark their ballots accordingly.

- o Article 6, Item 6.05- Membership
 - Honorary members may be individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Wagyu cattle
- o Article 6, Item 6.06- Membership
 - Shall become effective upon receipt of written notice or payment of annual dues Meeting adjourned by Tina Edwards, seconded by Matt McEwan

Meeting adjourned by Tina Edwards, seconded by Matt McEwan.